Yes, benadryl is gluten-free. This antihistamine is a prescription drug used to treat various allergies, including hay fever and other annoying seasonal allergies and hives. It’s available in tablet form as well as a syrup that can be administered directly into the mouth or mixed with water and taken as a drink.

There are many people who follow a gluten-free diet—for one reason or another—and therefore, it’s important to know if your medicine contains gluten or not. Let’s take an in-depth look at benadryl and its gluten content to help you make an informed decision whether to take this medication while following a gluten-free diet.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein present in certain grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and spelt. Gluten is used as a thickening agent and binding agent in many foods, and it also serves as a source of protein. Gluten is found in bread, pasta, baked goods, some beers, and a variety of other foods. The gluten found in foods is different from the gluten found in medications.

Many people use a gluten-free diet (GFD) to manage celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, or wheat allergy, or to lose weight. People on a GFD may choose not to eat any gluten-containing foods or may follow a less strict version of the diet.

How does benadryl work in the body?

Benadryl works to reduce swelling and itching as a result of an allergic reaction by blocking the effects of histamine, a naturally occurring chemical in the body that’s responsible for these symptoms.

See also  Where Can I Buy Injectable Benadryl?

The drug is not meant to be used for ongoing allergies like hay fever, but rather as a one-off treatment for a sudden allergic reaction. It’s also used for motion sickness, anxiety, and insomnia.

Before taking any medication, it’s important to understand how it works in the body and what side effects there may be.

Will benadryl make you feel drowsy?

Drowsiness is a common side effect of Benadryl and this is especially likely to occur if you take it in combination with another sedating drug, such as a sleeping pill.

Drowsiness is the most common side effect of antihistamines and can range from mild to severe. You can avoid or minimize drowsiness by taking the antihistamine with food and/or by taking a smaller dose of the drug.

For some people, drowsiness is desirable, such as when you’re trying to sleep off a cold or allergies. However, drowsiness is not desirable when driving or operating heavy machinery as it may impair your ability to react appropriately.

Is Benadryl Gluten Free?

Yes, Benadryl is gluten-free. This antihistamine is a prescription drug used to treat various allergies, including hay fever and other annoying seasonal allergies and hives. It’s available in tablet form as well as a syrup that can be administered directly into the mouth or mixed with water and taken as a drink.

There are many people who follow a gluten-free diet—for one reason or another—and therefore, it’s important to know if your medicine contains gluten or not.

Let’s take an in-depth look at benadryl and its gluten content to help you make an informed decision whether to take this medication while following a gluten-free diet.

See also  How Much Childrens Benadryl for Guinea Pigs?

Should you take Benadryl while on a Gluten-Free Diet?


Benadryl is a great allergy relief, but will it fit into your gluten-free diet? Well, first let’s look at what the ingredients in benadryl are:

Corn Starch, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Povidone, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Starch Glycolate, Sorbitol, Stearic Acid, Stearyl Alcohol, Talc.

As you can see, there is no gluten listed as an ingredient in Benadryl. However, keep in mind that food allergies can also cause allergies to other products that may contain gluten. So, if you are following a strict gluten-free diet, you may want to avoid Benadryl.

Final Words

Whether you should or shouldn’t take Benadryl while on a gluten-free diet.

Benadryl is an antihistamine that has been used to treat allergies, insomnia, and motion sickness for many years. It is generally safe to take while following a gluten-free diet, as it does not contain gluten.

However, allergy medications like Benadryl have a high risk of causing a bad reaction in those with a food allergy. If you have a food allergy, avoid taking Benadryl and other allergy medications.


The Team
Author

The wealthformyhealth.com team is composed of doctors and few students in their final year of medicine who have decided to popularize and share their knowledge.